Beware of Certain Veteran Advocates


vaIf you are working with VSO, or veteran’s service officer, and you’re happy that’s great. Most of them are great and follow the rules and guidelines the VA sets up for them. unfortunately some of them will give you bad advice or refuse to do what they get paid for. I am currently working with the Disabled American Veterans because of this and this is just my preference. I don’t want to blame my problems on every hard-working VSO because I know that you guys work hard and it is not an easy job. A lot is piled on you and it’s sometimes overwhelming, I’m sure. However, I believe that sometimes certain VSO’s do not stay up to date with the latest information regarding Gulf War Illness as mine did. So I made the switch. I was also told to not appeal my request for service-connected disability and that is wrong according to everyone I’ve talked to at the VA since.
The same VSO tried to pry into my private life for some reason as well, promised to help me go over my medical records and then would not and he also got mad at me for getting audio books from the Library of Congress which is my right as someone with carpal tunnel and arthritis in my hands. In my opinion people like this are not advocates at all, they are more like a hinderance to disabled veterans and should be avoided.
va7The other problem I have found out is that no matter what the VA says or does regarding the presence of Gulf War Illness as a recognizable medical treatment there are some old school-type people who no matter what they are told will still always take it upon themselves to try and prove that Gulf War Illness is not real and discourage us from filing in claims for it. This VSO was so convinced that I could not do it that he encouraged me to give up. Which to me means don’t ever give up. It backfired with me because once you tell me I can’t do something I will prove you wrong if it kills me and I hope you do the same. Just be careful, even if the VSO seems nice and helpful. They are still working for a government agency that doesn’t want to just hand over the benefits without a fight and some of these people think the money belongs to them.
Don’t forget you can also hire an attorney if you feel you need to. They will take all your back pay if you win, but some feel it is worth it to receive the benefits. Just make sure you do some research on the attorney to make sure they have experience handling veteran’s cases. Ask them what their case record is and good luck.

15 thoughts on “Beware of Certain Veteran Advocates”

    1. Thanks, I appreciate all my readers. I looked at your blog and I like it. Seems like you really know Huskies. I just got a fox terrier pup and he’s only 3 lbs. Your Husky would probably stomp my poor little Max. But that’s cool. I had a Husky once, but my Dad had me give him away because he kept jumping on my nephew and niece. But keep coming back and I will keep reading yours too! That’s the way it works! So folks, please also check out this cool blog about Huskies and all the other links in comments. Anyone who stops by is welcome here! Thanks again and god bless you! -Dave

      Like

    2. Well, thanks! I try. I am just here to try and raise the awareness of a subject that not many people know about until it affects them. Especially the young folks today. They were babies when the war happened and as time goes on the more it fades into the background. I don’t want that to happen. I’m trying very hard to get a major newspaper or TV station to take notice. Pray for that and if you have time – write to them and tell them you think that it’s a good story for them to report on. I think whoever breaks the story first will be opening the door for a story that may get national attention. I also am working on trying to get a rally organized to go to New York, DC and maybe San Francisco. But we are so sick it would be a challenge. We need help from those who are not sick to speak for us and maybe if someone is willing to get me out there I would love to make a speech on behalf of veterans everywhere who are suffering with this illness and not getting compensated by the VA.

      Like

  1. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a weblog site?
    The account helped me a appropriate deal. I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered brilliant transparent idea

    Like

  2. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day. It will always be useful to read through content from other writers and practice a little something from other websites.

    Like

  3. To all those who have nothing to contribute but shout at the post, i have a quote for you from Denis Thatcher: “Better keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than open it and remove all doubt.”

    Like

  4. An attention-grabbing dialogue is price comment. I feel that you need to write more on this topic, it may not be a taboo topic however generally individuals are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    Like

    1. Well, I’m kinda learning as I go. I have done a lot of research, but it’s hard sometimes to not go too far. I told my VSO that I was looking on the internet about Gulf War Syndrome and he immediately says, “Oh, you know there’s a lot of nuts out there that think there’s a conspiracy theory going on” and ever since then he tells everyone that I am one of them. I didn’t even look at that because I can’t back up any of the conspiracy theories with facts and though I may think some of it’s true – I have to go with what the VA says is true, which is actually a lot of information that they have not admitted for years. And it’s not really the VA that was withholding information, but the DOD did not want to release facts. Now, after 20 years the VA and vets have a better understanding. But, yes it is very laborious. Thanks for the comment and spread the word! God bless.

      Like

  5. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d definitely donate to this superb blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!

    Like

  6. Hé là les gens. Je suis Tom, alias TechProWannabe du Royaume-Uni. Je suis nouveau ici et je suis encore en train de naviguer sur le site, donc je vais donner mes excuses maintenant, si je poste un sujet dans le mauvais forum. Je suis ici pour donner et demander des informations, pour peut-être faire des amis et de profiter d’être une partie de la communauté. Pas que je sache beaucoup sur l’informatique et des composants, mais je serai heureux de donner à mes incite où voulait. J’ai eu mon Acer Aspire 5336 ordinateur portable pour un certain nombre d’années maintenant, (personne n’a jamais obtenir un ordinateur portable, il est incroyablement mauvais) et je suis désireux de passer à un budget de jeux PC. Comme ma connaissance de l’informatique est limité, je pensais que je serais joindre à un forum, pour essayer d’aider ceux semblable à moi et à apprendre l’espère.

    Like

Leave a Reply

