“… God forbid…


“… God forbid we should ever be twenty years without such a rebellion. The people cannot be all, and always, well informed. The part which is wrong will be discontented, in proportion to the importance of the facts they misconceive. If they remain quiet under such misconceptions, it is lethargy, the forerunner of death to the public liberty…. And what country can preserve its liberties, if its rulers are not warned from time to time, that this people preserve the spirit of resistance? Let them take arms. The remedy is to set them right as to the facts, pardon and pacify them. What signify a few lives lost in a century or two? The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time, with the blood of patriots and tyrants. It is its natural manure.”

Thomas Jefferson Papers, 334 (C.J. Boyd, Ed., 1950)

11 thoughts on ““… God forbid…”

  1. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

    Like

  2. I wish to voice my passion for your kindness for folks who must have help with that niche. Your special commitment to getting the message throughout turned out to be really practical and has frequently encouraged girls like me to arrive at their goals. The warm and helpful publication signifies a whole lot a person like me and somewhat more to my peers. Many thanks; from each one of us.

    Like

  3. I not to mention my pals happened to be studying the best suggestions located on the website then suddenly I got an awful suspicion I never expressed respect to the blog owner for those tips. Most of the boys appeared to be for this reason joyful to see them and have without a doubt been using those things. Thanks for really being so considerate and also for making a choice on some awesome themes millions of individuals are really wanting to learn about. My honest apologies for not saying thanks to sooner.

    Like

  4. After research a few of the weblog posts on your website now, and I actually like your manner of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website checklist and shall be checking back soon. Pls check out my web page as well and let me know what you think.

    Like

    1. well, thanks, I really appreciate that. I try to do what I can on a subject that seems to have been forgotten by the media. The VA is talking about clearing cases, but I will believe it when I see it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

