Hazzard to Navigation


The Irish Rover's Blog

eddystone
Over the weekend I received a video about a large US warship ordering a lighthouse to change course to avoid collision.
While the video was funny, I didn’t laugh too hard. Having done something similar myself, and indeed, as have many a young Royal Navy radar operator. After basic training I spent two years aboard HMS Cockade in the Far East. During that time I had shown an interest in becoming a radar operator. I trained on Cockade and was rated “Radar Plotter 3(U)” Please note the (U) stood for unqualified! In order to qualify I had to take a six month course at the RN Radar School HMS Harrier.
Now back to the Cockade, we were on a course for home after being away for two years, it was an exciting time for the crew. As we neared Lands End I was the duty radar operator and keen to…

View original post 221 more words

Leave a Reply

